Tags

, , , , , ,

I am not usually one to follow trends, do things because others are doing them, go with the crowd, however you want to put that. I like to do my own thing. I like to be different. I like to stand out.

That said, I know a good thing when I see it, and I can be a convinced of a good idea. Some ideas require very little convincing, especially when they come from a person whose opinions and taste I trust. I also tend to be pretty late to the party. I discover niftiness long after others have discovered and incorporated that niftiness into their daily lives.

Knitting is no different. I discovered the Noro Striped Scarf ages after a whole bunch of other people had done it. I knit Ishbel at least a year after it came out. And now, I’m knitting my very first pair of Jaywalkers.

Pattern: Jaywalkers
Yarn: Hazel Knits Artisan Sock, “Pink Lemonade”

(They look so big to me! But they fit nicely so far. Next time, I think I’ll go down a needle size for the ribbing.)

I really started these because of Glenna C. and her Jaywalkers here: Digging Deep: Gorgeous Jaywalker Photos Here. They are glorious and beautiful and look so sophisticated. A while ago, Glenna decided she was going to knit a week’s worth of Jaywalkers, and I thought that sounded like a good idea. It’s taken me this long to cast on my first pair.

Glenna is also the reason I discovered the joys of 3×1 ribbed socks, and I’ve got a sweater she designed on the needles. (More on that later.) She is one of those amazingly talented (and funny!) people whose blog I look forward to. (If you don’t already read her, you should. She’s lovely.) She’s also one of those people whose projects I don’t mind following and whose ideas I don’t mind adopting (sometimes). She’s got her head on straight, and her knitting philosophy often agrees with mine.

Whose examples do you follow? What are your criteria?

