Tags

, , , , ,

Good: I’ve finished my Pre-Literate Stockings. They’re a little shorter than I’d like, but I’m going to wear them anyway! They’re still snuggly and warm. I’m planning on making my next pair in fingering weight yarn, which will take a long time, but will also be warm and elegant and otherwise fabulous.

Good: I ordered a late 19th-century/early 20th-century hardwood, adjustable HAT BLOCKER! It was not at all expensive. I’m looking forward to showing it off when it arrives. I do not believe in purchasing things like this and not using them. I’m going to block hats on it and photograph hats on it! Yaaay!

Good: Mary Thomas’s Knitting Book arrived in the mail today. I purchased this book for the fun of it and because I heard it was an excellent general knitting reference. The book was first published in 1938 in London, and is now out in Dover reprint (at a fabulous price). I’ve had time to flip through it, and wow. I was looking for an interesting book on knitting between the World Wars, when knitting was in transition from being a political statement to a pleasure and back to a political statement. Mary Thomas’s Knitting Book is so much more. I’ll do a full review later (which is another purpose of this blog). (Let’s just say that there are a lot more photos of SCA-period artifacts than I was expecting!)

Good: Alex’s Monmouth Cap fulled up beautifully, and I’m looking forward to photographing it.

Ugly:
This is how much yarn I have left on my Monmouth Cap:

From Knitting

And this is how much I have left to do on the three-needle bind-off:

From Knitting

It’s not going to happen. I’m going to have to frog the whole thing and start over, just a little smaller and just a little shorter, and then not full it quite as much. The sad thing is that this is how far I’ve gotten on the hat:

From Knitting

Yep. One needle’s worth of three-needle bind-off left to do, and then the hat would be complete and ready for fulling. Ah, well. Tomorrow’s another day.

At least the good outweighs the ugly!

