Tags

, , ,

October is NoNewKnitMo, or No New Knitting Month. This is the month when some of us knitters look at what we’re working on, realize we feel a bit overwhelmed with projects, and commit to finishing what we have on the needles before casting on anything new (at least until November). The next few entries will be reports on what I’ve finished during NoNewKnitMo this year.

Project 1: The Squishy Christmas Blanket
The Project on Ravelry
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick, #106 Sky Blue, 11 skeins
Needles: Knit Picks Harmony Circular Needles, Size US 13
Pattern: Knitted Garter Stitch Blanket in Sheepsdown from The Opinionated Knitter by Elizabeth Zimmermann
Start Date: September 8, 2009
Finish Date: October 1, 2009

From Knitting

I loved knitting this blanket. It was so simple, and the pieces were easy to memorize. It was pretty quick, too. I will probably make another one at some point.

From Knitting

Hiro definitely approved.

From Knitting

Half the fun of this blanket is the way it goes together like a puzzle. I actually enjoyed the making up almost as much as I enjoyed the knitting.

I followed the pattern pretty much exactly as it is in the book. I did a single-crochet seam and a single-crochet border to finish it off.

Things I Learned While Doing This Project:
1) Weave in your ends before you seam.
2) I can do a mitered corner.
3) I can do a single-crochet seam.
4) I can do a single-crochet border.
4) I can do a sewn bind-off.

All in all, this was a fun project, and one that I could work on while chatting or watching TV. I like projects like that. It also satisfied my urgent need for garter stitch–at least for that project. I’m still very into garter stitch.

Next Entry: Brown Is Beautiful

