Tags

, , , , ,

Project 2: Brown Is Beautiful Sweater
The Project on Ravelry
Yarn: Lion Brand Fishermen’s Wool, Nature’s Brown, 2.5 skeins
Needles: Knit Picks Harmony Circular Needles, Size US 7
Pattern: Seamless Raglan Sweater from Knitting Without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmermann
Start Date: I am ashamed to admit that I neglected to write down the actual start date of this sweater. I know I started it about mid-June, 2009.
Finish Date: October 12, 2009

From Knitting

Once again, thank you, Elizabeth Zimmermann. I loved this pattern, and the sweater fits perfectly. I’m definitely making another one. I particularly like the seed stitch at the hem, sleeves, and collar, which I did instead of ribbing. The seed stitch is plenty stretchy and looks elegant, I think. This was also my very first sweater done in the round, and my second sweater ever. This is my first sweater for me, but definitely not the last.

The yarn is sooooo wonderful to work with–the lanolin in it makes my hands feel fabulous when I’m done working with it. I would definitely purchase this yarn again. I wish it came in more colors, but the neutrals are lovely.

From Knitting

(Please ignore my squinting in the above photo. Look at the sweater.)

A few things I would do differently next time:
1) Make sure I have 3 complete skeins of yarn. I wound up having to make a teensy collar, which worked out really well, actually, but I’d like the choice to do a wider one if I wanted. (I used every little bit of the yarn I had.)
2) Make the sleeves longer. I wanted them to be full-length sleeves, but they wound up being more like 3/4-length. It still looks good, but not what I originally had in mind.
3) Do a slightly deeper armhole, say 1 1/2 inches instead of just 1. (As in, knit about 1 1/2 inches after attaching the sleeves.)
4) Do less shaping on the back of the neck. It doesn’t need to come up that high in the back.

All in all, though, I love this sweater. I foresee that it will be one of my favorite sweaters this winter. I’ve already worn it once on a cool, windy day, and the sweater is like a shield against the wind. The wool just stops it, and it’s not even a very heavy sweater!

I’m really glad I’ve finally finished this. The next one will definitely go more quickly, as I think I’m less likely to get distracted by other things now that I know how wonderful this simple sweater can be.

From Knitting
