Tags

,

First of all, I am a Bad Blogger. It has been at least a month since I last posted here. I’m going to be better; I promise. I really, really need to do some photography. With any luck, the sun will be out and beautiful when my husband and I go down to California this week to spend Thanksgiving with his side of the family.

Secondly, a Knitterly Confession: I have never blocked anything. I know that blocking is supposed to be one of the most wonderful things you can do for your knits. It really finishes them off and helps your knitting be all that it can be. Admittedly, I have an excuse: I used to knit almost exclusively in acrylic, and you can’t really block acrylic. However, I now knit almost exclusively in wool, and you can definitely block wool. And you should block wool. I should block wool. Somehow, though, I never got around to it. Not officially, if you know what I mean. I generally block my socks, for instance, by putting them on my feet and dancing gleefully about.

On this day, however, I am blocking something. I knitted a beret based on Crazy Aunt Purl’s Super Simple Fast and Easy Chunky Hand Knit Beret. It was, as advertised, super simple, as well as being fast and easy. I made it out of Lamb’s Pride Bulky in “Royal Purple Flutter,” which is a delightfully bright purple. However, it came out looking…odd. Really odd. It had this funny little point on the top. I solved the point by redoing the decreases, but the hat was still a funny shape. Since I want to take it down to California and not look like a total dork, I decided there was only one solution. And that was…dun dun DUUUUUNNNNNN!…blocking.

Luckily, I had precisely the right size of plate to make this happen properly. I put the plate inside the beret, arranged it carefully, and soaked it under the water faucet. I really hope it’ll be dry by tomorrow.

I also hope I remember to take pictures of it.

I have many, many Finished Objects to show you. I’m just not sure when. With any luck, I’ll post a whole bunch this week. Right now, I’m still recovering from the Evil Chest Cold that attacked me last week, so I’m going to work on the scarf to match the beret.

