Tags

, , , ,

No crap, there I was…

I had a brand-new experience today. I was on a wonderful yarn crawl through British Columbia, Canada, with some charming friends of mine. (That wasn’t completely new.) At the last yarn shop, about three nice ladies came up to me and asked me about the shawl I was wearing. They had me pull my hair up so they could see the back, examined the shawl minutely, and then said, “Dear, what pattern is that?”

I blinked. “It’s sorta-kinda based on the Wool Peddler’s Shawl from Folk Knits, but it’s really not like it that much at all,” I managed, realizing for the first time that I’d modified the darned pattern so completely that it bore very little resemblance to the original. “It was inspired by someone who did a ruffle on the bottom instead of the lace, but I did a knit-front-and-back instead of all the yarnovers, so I had to modify the stitch count at the beginning.” I would have yammered on a bit, but the nice lady stopped me.

“You need to write up that shawl and put it on Ravelry!” she told me. “I want to make one!”

“Me, too!” announced her friend. “It looks just the thing! It stays on your shoulders so nicely!” With that, she demanded my Ravelry name, wrote it down, and bid me a fond farewell. (If you’re out there, nice lady from Virginia, thank you!)

Well.

I don’t call myself a designer. This is a very, very basic shawl recipe, and you can adjust it to any yarn or needles you like. I’ll just share how I did mine, and then you can figure out how you like yours.

Yarn Crawl Shawl
Project on Ravelry
Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts BFL Sport, Jabberwocky Colorway
Needles: Knit Picks Options Nickel-Plated Circulars, Size 7

-CO 9 stitches. (I used a long-tail cast on.)
-R1 (Right Side): K1, Kf&b, K1, Kf&b, Place Marker, K1, Place Marker, Kf&b, K1, Kf&b, K1.
-R2 (and all even-numbered rows): Knit.
Continue in pattern, increasing (kf&b) after first stitch, on each side of center stitch, and before last stitch on every odd row and knitting plain every even row until you feel that you’re about two inches from the end. Then, start the ruffle:
-On a right-side row, *Knit 1, Kf&b until the first marker, slip marker, knit one, slip marker, and *Kf&b, K1 to end of row.
-Knit across.
-Continue in the original pattern (increase after first stitch, on each side of center stitch, and before last stitch on every odd row and knit plain every even row) until you feel done.
-Bind off.
-Weave in ends.
-Fling your new shawl rakishly about your shoulders and feel warm!

