So, I’m going to Stitches West in February, and I’m taking a few classes. One of those classes is Entrelac Rocks!. I was all kinds of excited–finally, I would learn to knit entrelac!

It turns out I didn’t read very well. I got my homework for Stitches the other day, and the homework for this particular class specifically said, “Review and practice basic entrelac triangles and rectangles before class.”

Oops.

Luckily, I have Entrelac: the Essential Guide to Interlace Knitting. I bought it a while ago, planning to get into it after I learned the basics at Stitches.

I learned to knit in the first place out of a book; surely entrelac could also be learned this way?

The answer is: Yes.

Notes: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Worsted, “Fairy Tale” and “Winter Night”, knit on size 8 needles.

Entrelac is actually pretty darned fun. I love those little triangles and rectangles, I love how it comes together section by section, I love how it looks–at least on the front. I’m not thrilled with the backside, but that’s okay. Also, if you switch colors every row, there are many ends to weave in.

So…what does one do with an entrelac swatch? Ideas? Maybe knit another one, sew them together, and have some kind of really incredible hot pad? (My husband points out that, if I had knitted this in kitchen cotton, I would have had a super funky dishcloth. This is true, and may be the solution to some of the issues I was having with some of the weird-colored cotton I bought on a whim.)

What do you do with entrelac?

