Tags

, , , ,

One of the many things I love about knitting is the fact that, should I require a new, warm winter hat, I can sit down on my Sunday afternoon/evening and darned well make myself a warm winter hat. I can wind that worsted weight yarn (Sanguine Gryphon Zaftig Bugga!, to be precise, which is, sadly, going away), cast on 88 stitches, knit those jogless stripes, and have myself an awesome hat striped with awesome and covered in awesomesauce by 11:00 at night. Then, having woven in the ends, I can take silly photos of myself with my cell phone and no natural light, thus exposing myself as one of the palest people on the planet. However, don’t you think the blue brings out my eyes?

 

Yes, I turned up the brim. It turns out that this particular hat is just a wee bit too long. However, folding up the ribbing makes my ears super warm! Let’s just pretend that I meant to do that, shall we?

And now, an amateurish shot of the really neat square-y thing that happens with the decreases!

I love this hat, and I love this yarn. The pattern is Brooklyn Tweed’s “Turn A Square” (Ravelry Link). The yarn is Zaftig Bugga! in “Bark Scorpion” (pale blue) and “Burying Beetle” (variegated purples). I think I used about half a skein of each. I probably have enough left for stripy fingerless gloves.

I’m going to call this hat “Sunday in Skyrim” on Ravelry, because I knitted it while watching my charming husband play Skyrim on the Playstation. The icy blues and purples also remind me of the frozen wasteland in which his character spends a lot of time.

So, now I have my warm Skyrim hat to keep me warm in the (admittedly snow-free thus far) cold of winter, and it only took me a couple of hours, some sticks, and some string. Amazing.

What have you been doing to stay warm?

