Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today’s entry involves three projects that were on the needles for a needlessly long time.  There was really no good reason for these to stay UFOs for so long–other than the fact that I’m really easily distracted.  Still, I’m incredibly happy with all three of them and glad that they’re in a wearable state at last.

Let’s begin with the project that was on the needles the longest.

High Octang Socks (Rav Link)
Cast On 11/6/2010
Bound Off 11/18/2011

I created the pattern for these socks and knitted the first one while I was on vacation in Japan last November. They’re relatively simple–the pattern notes fit on a 3×5 card, and that includes the cable chart. I plan to write up the pattern and release it on Ravelry, just in case anyone else wants socks like these. (Knitting them in bright orange yarn is not necessary, but it’s fun.)

The yarn, by the way, is absolutely fabulous. It’s Hazel Knits Artisan Sock in “High OcTANG.” I purchased two more skeins of this in other colors, and I’m looking forward to knitting them up.

Next, we have (SURPRISE!) more socks.

Toe-Up Ladies’ Socks With Lozenge Pattern (Rav Link)
Cast On 11/27/2010
Bound Off 11/7/2011

I am absolutely in love with this pattern. I made Alex a pair a while back, and these, while based on Nancy Bush’s original pattern from Knitting Vintage Socks, are turned toe-up and sized down to fit my wee feet. I love the pattern and plan to make at least one more pair.

The yarn here is Lana Grossa Mega Boots Stretch that I bought on serious sale at some point. It’s okay, but a little thin and splitty for my tastes. On the other hand, I love the subtle color changes, so I might give it another try sometime.

And, finally, the piece de resistance:

Near-Year Kimono (Rav Link)
Cast On 8/5/2010
Bound Off 7/18/2011

Needless to say, I am very proud of this piece. This is the Kimono Shawl from Nancy Oberle’s Folk Shawls. I learned a lot from knitting this. One of the most important things I learned is that you shouldn’t take almost a year to knit a rectangular lace stole, because there’s a good chance that your gauge will change over time and you’ll have to do some creative blocking in order to get it to look nice. Still, it does look nice, if I do say so myself. Look at the lovely autumn sunlight shining through the lace.

This stole is knitted in Malabrigo Lace in the colorway “Velvet Grapes.” Just so you know, pretty much everything you’ve heard about Malabrigo Lace is true: It pills and wants to felt to itself, it is incredibly soft and warm, and it is luscious to wear. The wants-to-felt bit is actually nice while you’re knitting lace, especially if you’re like me and you drop stitches once in a while. Those stitches won’t go far with this yarn.

I’m doing my best to keep from having projects on the needles for as long as these three were. The main one that’s bugging me is my Log Cabin Moderne, but it’s difficult to work on. It’s not that the pattern is difficult or anything like that, it’s just that…well, see for yourself:

Hiro thinks the blanket is done enough.

