Tags

, , , ,

I’m doing some finishing, cleaning, redo, and generally spiffing-up of the blog. I want to get some good graphics up here and establish what I really want this blog to look like. Consider this theme a temporary thing until I get things done the way I like them.

I’ve had a bad (good?) case of finish-itis lately, which is a good thing. I’ve finished some things…

(Suki, from The Sock Report, in Sanguine Gryphon Bugga! and Madelinetosh Tosh Light respectively)

(Haruni in Handmaiden Sea Silk)

(Phaeodaria from The Sock Report)

…in some different ways…

…and done some things that I can’t actually show you yet.

I’ve been clearing the decks, making room in my knitting queue for some new things, and working my way through some projects that have languished long enough.

Today’s story involves choices. I like choices. I’ve been working on a pair of basic, 3×1 rib socks for myself as “training” for the Ravellenic Games. (This is my first year participating.) I tried Sock 1 on yesterday, and…it was too tight. Blast. I was almost to the toe, but I steeled myself (who wants socks that don’t fit?) and frogged it.

I was all ready to cast on again, when I realized that I didn’t really want to knit this particular pair of socks right now. While I was definitely in the mood for lovely, simple, 3×1 rib socks, this yarn was no longer speaking to me. I argued back and forth with myself for a few seconds (as one does), saying things like “Well, you started those socks; you should finish them.” Then, I realized that I am in charge of my own knitting, and it is for fun. I didn’t have to knit those socks. To the stash I went. The Kroy sock yarn went back into the stash, safely stowed in a plastic zip-top bag, and I wound this instead:

(That’s Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Mediumweight in “STORM Large.”)

Yeah. I am the boss of me.

